End of Week 1: Meh

This past week has been less than optimal. Oddly, the days I’ve worked have been the best as far as diet and exercise; when I’m not at home with all my options here, or when I don’t have the option to go run and get food somewhere else, I stick to my plan better.

So I’d been doing pretty well Monday through Wednesday, sticking to tuna salad with salad for lunch and cabbage and turkey stew for dinner, with regular snacks and enough water, plus hitting the gym for cardio on Tuesday. Then Thursday, my body pretty much demanded I catch up on sleep. I slept through most of the day on Thursday, and while I did manage to cook large batches of food for the upcoming week that day, I did little else. I’d hoped I could make up for it on Friday, but I managed to badly hurt myself first thing in the morning on Friday. I cracked my neck and in the morning, I could barely move it an inch in any direction without pain. Painkillers, a hot pad, rest, and a hot shower loosened my muscles enough that I could drive and go to my Friday night class, but I was miserable. I didn’t think I could handle the gym. Saturday was also painful, though thankfully less so than Friday. I got a new pillow with better support, and I think that’s helping, or at least it’s not making it worse. Today was the first day since Friday morning that I went to the gym, and even with that I stuck to cardio. I didn’t want any strain on anything in the pectoral girdle, since even the slightest movement the past few days has sent pain radiating down my back, shoulder, and arm.

Add to that I usually don’t eat at home on Friday nights because of class, I went to have dinner and movie night with a bunch of friends last night, another friend of mine made and brought me cookies yesterday, and I generally eat like crap when I’m not feeling well, and my progress for this past week isn’t what I’d have liked it to be. I haven’t gained weight, but I haven’t lost much either.

The numbers for this week are:

Weight: 233.8 lb (-0.8 lb)
Waist: 38 in (-0.5 in)
Hip: 39 in (-0.5 in)
Chest: 39 in (no change)
Neck: 14.5 in (-0.25 in)
Thigh: 24.75 in (no change)

For this upcoming week, my goals are to eat properly as planned, drink at least 60 oz of water per day, and go to the gym at least three times before next Sunday.

There’s some amount wiggle room in this; I know I’m going to karaoke on Thursday, and there might be another movie night next Friday, but with those two exceptions for dinners, I should be eating the meals I’ve prepared. I need to remember to eat breakfast every morning, which is weirdly hard for me; I’m not a huge fan of breakfast food, and taking the time to make it, eat it, and clean up after myself has been more than I’ve wanted to do this past week. I’ll need to figure out how to make sure breakfast is a thing that happens. Same with drinking water, it either doesn’t occur to me or I’m drinking something else (coffeeeeee) or my glass is empty and I don’t really feel like going to the kitchen to fill it. If I can manage to not injure myself again, I think I can nail the exercise goal, though. So that’s a plus.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

